3D objects - am I doing it right?

edited October 9 in HitFilm Pro Support

Hi Team

I'm trying to put together a video which uses 3D objects of an iMac, a phone and a tablet that I've found from various online stores. I'm brand new to working with 3D objects but the questions I have are:

1) What is the best way for me to put screenshots on the screens of these devices? I don't see a way to do it via the properties for the 3D objects, so I've been importing screenshots as a separate 3D layer, positioning them "on top of" the screens of the 3D objects, then parenting the images to the 3D objects. It feels like there is a better way to do it, but I don't know what that is.

2) Sometimes I am seeing glitches when I render scenes where I've animated the objects moving and/or the camera moving. For example, when the camera pulls back, the iMac's pedestal disappears and surface "tears". I even see the pedestal disappearing on the 3D object when in perspective view as I scrub my way through the timeline.  The problem goes away if I make the objects '3D plane' instead of '3D unrolled' but I have been adding them as '3D unrolled' layers as this makes placing them in 3D space using the perspective / top / left view possible. Am I doing this wrong?

Comments

• edited October 9

An example would be helpful

Try this workflow. 

• Import iMac screen model in a new comp. Name it iMac or whatever. Unroll the model. Just leave it facing you and a proper scale.
    • Import the video you want into this comp. Turn it 3d
    • Add camera 
    • Make a point and turn it 3d. Parent the model and the video/photo to the point.
    • Resize/position the video/photo down to fit your screen 
    • Add lights to make it look realistic
    • In materials of the video you turned 3D turn off receive shadows and illumination.
    • Make a new comp and put the first comp into it and then unroll it. Add a camera
    • Add a point. Parent the point to the Unrolled comp you just brought in.