Canvas and Template Choices

Greetings, I must be missing something, when looking through template open or canvas selection I cannot see match modal or match background choices, although I see them in the video as well as getting around from the online manual.  Also, how do you load a background automatically?  When I chose load image from the file it names the first as layer 1 instead of background and Modal layer loads as layer 2.  Must you rename these every time>  Thanks for helping I am very very new to this...  Also, silly last question.  It keeps saying I have 2047 MB of mem and need 2048.  Odd to be missing by 1.  Thanks...  Sincerely, William

Comments

• rikkiloadesrikkiloades Staff
    edited October 2018

Hello @guardianwill. Thanks for reaching out. We hope you are enjoying Imerge Pro. Here are responses to your queries:

"I must be missing something, when looking through template open or canvas selection I cannot see match modal or match background choices, although I see them in the video as well as getting around from the online manual."

So Imerge does not have an explicitly designated Foreground and Background. Layers are the top level structure. You can make a Layer called Foreground and Background then add multiple images to its content area to achieve the same goal. Note though that this means you can have more than just the foreground and background have variations, any layer of type Image or Text can have variations - it allows for a lot more flexibility and complex compositing. What this means is that when you initially open a project, and you have no layers, the canvas settings will appear to only have preset sizes and a custom option. If you open it when you have some image layers you will see "Match Layer Y" and "Match Layer Y" options. See the screenshot below shows a project with a Foreground and Background layer and the canvas settings have options to match either.