3D lasers in 3D space

Hi im working on a space scene in a 3D composite shot on HF 14 exp my only is that I can't visualise laser firing simply because when i add for instance light sword (layer only) as a 2d plane it cant be seen in 3D which is ovbiously because its 2D not 3D so i switch it to 3D plane which can either be seen from the front or the back not the sides bottom or top so having a ship flying over them ( camera parented to to follow the ship) would  result in these lasers being unviewable 

so i try another method which is the phaser effect that only lasts about a second and for this effect to repeat it self say for instance rapid fire from a single cannon i have cut and paste 30 times for a 30sec composite which results in my desktop crashing and never opening the project again 

i tried is modeling a cylinder in blender to the shape and the colour and glow required but I have no knowledge of blender or 3d modeling at all every tutorial i have watched that could of possibly helped me achive this goal has been of the older versions of blender  i have the latest 2.18 also the 3d models i do have has  been free down loads  I did ask in some facebook groups if anyone could make a 3d laser bolt for me but nobody seems to want to give any adivce on the subject one person how ever asked if hitfilm supports PBR  which i dont know