DOWNTOWN - Sony a6300 with Sigma 30mm f1.4

Hey guys! this is my latest edit shot around Newtown, Sydney on my new Sigma 30mm f1.4 lens. Let me know what your thoughts and any feedback think down below :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSpeKTm6RLY

Comments

• edited November 7

I've no real experience making this kind of video BUT it is well shot with some interesting transitions.

What I'm not so sure of is what you're looking to show or tell me. I *thought* it was going to be your (?) journey from the start to somewhere special or significant to you. Who is the chap in the workman's jacket? Why is that shot used twice? What's the car and hanging baskets all about?

Maybe :  Man walks along the suburb street -> Man meets a friend in the cafe -> He/They journey on the subway/underground -> They walk up the steps and emerge into the city -> The reason for going to the city and the significance to the man is revealed.

In my view there is nothing wrong with the execution, it's just the content is lacking narrative or story.

• I agree with @DafterThings. Your editing chops are solid from a technical standpoint, but it feels like this is more of a transition showcase than a story of your experience. At the end you ask people to subscribe, but you need to give them more of a reason than just nice transitions between nice-yet-seemingly-unrelated shots.

• If the title of a film includes the camera used, I tend to be wary- while the shots are all pretty, they should have some story

• It's a very well edited piece, with a really nice ebb and flow to it! Visually it's impressively consistent and I love some of the transitions. 100% agree with @jsbarrett and @DafterThings that this would have been even better with a bit of narrative, even something as simple as "my walk around downtown was transformed by the Sigma 30mm f1.4 lens!" It gives us as the audience something to latch on to and gives you more room to mess around with effects and transitions etc.