Text Box Woes

I am fairly new to HitFilm, so am starting with (what I thought would be!) a simple task as I learn my way around the program.

My first project involves creating projections of a narration which will accompany a live progressive-rock performance. To do this I created a Text layer, and added the text (editing as necessary using DEL, BACKSPACE and cursor keys), then used Opacity to produce the required fade in/out. So far so good.

I then played around with other stuff, and came back to the text box as the text itself needed modifying. I went into text mode, double-clicked in the text box, selected a word using the mouse and pressed DEL - and the whole text box disappeared! Ok... Undo. I then double-clicked in the box (the claret appeared where I had clicked) and tried using the cursor to move the claret - but the text box moved instead (and - in case you're wondering - I had clicked on the little text icon so the program knew I was in text mode).

No matter what I do, after HitFilm has been running for a while, I can no longer edit the text using DEL, BACKSPACE, or cursor keys (the first 2 delete the whole box, while latter move it).

However, if I save the project, quit and restart HitFilm, then reload  the project, all is good for a while - then the same thing happens again.

On a similar text related subject - does HitFilm use its own text buffer rather than the system clipboard? I can cut and paste text from one layer text box to another - but NOT from a layer text box to an effect text box.

I am using the latest version of HitFilm Pro - the same issues occur on Mac and PC.

Comments

• Is anyone able to advise me whether the above issue is a bug or due to user error on my part? If I am doing something wrong I'd be very grateful if someone could tell me what it is so I stop doing it...