Audio out of sync

Hi there!
I'm making a film for school but when I render it, the audio is 10(!) seconds out of sync at the end.
Is there a simple solution?
Maybe I found the answer myself: do the sample rate AND the bitrate have to be the same as the project properties?
Sorry for my bad English, hope you understand my question :)

Comments

• Before I forget: the duration of my video is 20 minutes.
    Don't know if it is usefull :P
  • Make sure the video framerate and audio sample rate in the project settings match the footage as the first step.
  • Thank you so much for the quick reply!
    So the audio bitrate has nothing to do with it?
    Sorry for my silly question. It's my first time you know.
  • Probably not. Pretty much all video is going to be in 16-bit, and changing the bitrate isn't something you can do in HitFilm, you'd need a dedicated audio editing program for that, I think.
    The question isn't silly at all, so no worries there. There is lots of potential for confusion in the realm of audio and video format details, and asking questions is an important part of the learning process. Please, feel free to ask questions any time you like.
  • edited April 2012
    VBR encoding can cause sync issues. Convert the audio to PCM and try it. I would assume that HF up/down samples any audio to match the project setting, so when you do that with VBR it can go off.
    VBR = Variable Bit Rate
    PCM = .WAV
    Mustard and onion on a hot dog = Yum
  • I've tried everything but it is still 5 sec out of sync?
    The first 5 minutes are good but then it is starting to go wrong.
    Got an idea?
  • edited April 2012
    That can happen with ripped DVD's.:) Ahem...cough...cough....
  • Does your video have a pulldown pattern? If you're not sure, what frame rate is the video and what camera did you use to record it? (Even better, upload a small clip of the video from your camera so that we can take a look here.)
  • edited April 2012