HitFilm's setup can be changed from the Options window, which can be found in the File menu.
This section is called Preferences on Mac.
|•||Maximum Undo: HitFilm tracks all of your actions, so that you can undo mistakes or go back if you change your mind. Logging more actions will require more memory. Find out more about using your action history.|
|•||Plane/Image Default Duration: Unlike videos, planes and images do not have a specific duration. This setting determines their initial duration when you add them to a timeline.|
|•||Composite Shot Default Duration: When creating a new composite shot this is used as the default duration, unless the composite shot is based on existing media.|
|•||Timeline Default Duration: When starting a new project, this is used as the default duration for the editor timeline.|
|•||Audio Waveforms: The editor timeline displays a waveform for audio clips. For information on the different waveform types, see Mixing audio.|
|•||Default Antialiasing Mode: Antialiasing is used to create perceptibly higher quality edge detail. HitFilm supports multiple antialiasing types depending on the capabilities of your hardware.|
|•||Display Motion Path: The motion path provides an indication of the movement of a layer across multiple keyframes. This setting adjusts the detail visible in the motion path.|
|•||Include screen layout when saving projects: When activated, your interface layout is stored in the project file. The layout in a project file will override the default workspace layout.|
|•||Use relative file paths in saved projects: Projects can include absolute or relative references to media file paths. When using relative paths, media is located relative to the project file itself. As long as the folder structure relative to the project file is maintained this makes it easy to transfer to a different computer or to use cloud storage.|
|•||Close all media files when application is not active: Some of HitFilm's media libraries are able to 'lock' media files, preventing any changes to the source files while you are working in HitFilm. This option forces all media to be closed and unlocked when you switch to a different application, so that you make external changes to your media. Note that this may impact performance when switching back to HitFilm.|
|•||Play audio when scrubbing timeline: HitFilm can play audio as you manually move the playhead around your timeline.|
|•||Show help links: Question mark icons in the corner of panels provide quick access to relevant pages in the user guide. These can be turned off to save space if you wish.|
HitFilm will notify you in certain situations. You can turn these alerts on and off according to your preference.
|•||Prompt when media doesn't match timeline: Adding a clip to an empty editor timeline will give you the option of matching the editor project settings to those of the media. Otherwise, the editor project settings will be automatically updated.|
|•||Confirm automatically adding 3D cameras to 2D shots: If a 3D layer is added to a 2D composite shot, HitFilm will ask whether you want to add a 3D camera. Otherwise, a camera will be added automatically.|
|•||Confirm removal last camera from 3D shots: Displays a notification when the last 3D camera is being removed from a composite shot, as this will also remove 3D layers from the timeline.|
|•||Show Quicktime warning: Displays a notification when launching HitFilm if Apple Quicktime is not installed. This will limit the number of formats you can use inside HitFilm. If you do not wish to install Quicktime, turn this warning off.|
|•||Show warning for oversized assets used as source: Large texture sources can impact on performance of the gunfire effect.|
Caching is used to improve performance while you're using HitFilm.
RAM Preview is used to temporarily render a section of your timeline into memory for real time playback. You can set the maximum allocated RAM. A higher value will enable the previewing of more frames. For full details see Introducing the Viewer.
HitFilm automatically stores background cache files to improve media performance.
|•||Database: Specifies the location of the cache database.|
|•||Cache: Specifies the location of the cache files.|
|•||Keep Unused Files: Old cache files will be automatically deleted after a specified number of days.|
|•||Delete Cache: Removes all cache files.|
The proxy system enables background rendering of composite shots and media files. This enables real time playback even of complex visual effects shots. For details see Proxying.
|•||Use Proxies For Export: When exporting your final render, HitFilm can use your proxies to reduce overall rendering time.|
|•||Proxy Media: The location for storing proxy files.|
|•||Limit Proxy Folder Size: Specifies the maximum size of the proxy folder.|
|•||Proxy Folder Size: Maximum size of proxy storage.|
|•||Usage: Displays how much of your allocated proxy storage has been used.|
|•||Delete All Proxies: Removes all proxies from the current proxy folder destination. Note that this cannot be undone.|
HitFilm automatically saves your project at regular intervals, in case of power or system failure.
You can change the frequency and storage location for auto saving, or turn it off entirely.
Note that large project files can take a few second to save, so may cause momentary pauses during auto saving.
Auto saves are stored separately to your main project file so that they do not interfere with your master project. Auto saves are only created if the project has been changed since the last manual save. Each auto save will create a new project file. Once you manually save your project any prior auto saves will be cleared and the auto save frequency will begin again.
If the software does not close normally, such as during a power cut, the next time you start the software you will be given the option to recover the most recent auto-save.
Many of HitFilm's tools and features can be controlled using keyboard shortcuts. As you become familiar with the software you will find that using shortcuts substantially speeds up your workflow.
The default shortcuts can be edited using the Shortcuts editor in the Options window. Some shortcuts are locked to the default, as indicated by the padlock symbol, but most can be customized to suit your preferred keys.
To change an assigned shortcut key, click in the shortcut column for the command and then press the desired key combination.
You can use the search box at the top of the window to quickly find a specific shortcut.
The activation section of the Options window displays details about your software's activation status.
This is where you can find your hardware ID, which you may need if you contact HitFilm technical support.
You can also choose to activate or deactivate the software from here. See Installation & activation for more information.