Virtual News Studio

As an aspiring broadcast journalist, I am in the process of putting together a semi-virtual news studio.  It is not all green screen based, but will have different screens of different shapes and sizes.  Some of which, I would like to be in the same shot.  And that is where my question is.  Is it possible to have different screens with different backgrounds all in the same shot?  I would also like to track them, too, but I know how to do that.  I don't know if that would screw anything up, though.  I have a feeling I read somewhere that masking gets this done, but I'm not sure. 

Comments

• I would say import the clips you want to be in your video, use the quad warp effect to warp them to fit the screens and change the blending mode to fit the screen!

• @Film_Empire could you go into more detail as to how to do that?  Are there tutorials online?  When I make the graphics for backgrounds in HitFilm, would I have to make the composistion a different size so it would look good or would the quad warp take care of that?

• @JacobBrooks

You want your video (or composite shot) that you add to the screen be the same aspect ratio as ot. If the screen has a 16:9 ratio and your clips doesn't have that, it will look distorted when you warp it.

Instructions:

1. Make composite shot with the actual footage
    2. Add the clips (or comps) you want to add
    3. Add the quad warp effect to the clips and warp them to fit the screen

Regards, Jamie - Film Empire

• @JacobBrooks ; Not to kibbutz (too much) here, but you might get some guidance from this tutorial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaI4QSKWQY0

• @Film_Empire ; Would I apply the keying effect first?

• edited April 1

@Film_Empire ; @tddavis